When I first published Captured Lies, I truly had no intentions of making it part of a series. In fact, to be honest I swore I would never write a series. That’s why you never say never, right?

Writing a series hadn’t been in my plans.

Now that I’ve written book 3 in The Caspian Wine Series, I kind of had to eat those words.

So how did book 2, Deceitful Truths come about?


Captured Lies
Deceitful Truths

Writing a series hadn’t been in my plans.

It was actually because of a reader that I wrote book 2. After reading Captured Lies, a reader emailed me and said ‘I loved your story, I could so relate to Bailey. Your characters were so real to me. So do you have any plans for another story involving them. Geoff was the worst character ever – he was so warped and evil.’

So as an author do you ever want to be told that your character is the worst ever? Kind of, yeah. Especially when they meant he was so real to them they truly disliked him. That is the best compliment ever.

My first response to this reader was, “Thank you but I really have no plans to write anything more about Bailey or Guy or any of the other characters”. It seemed the minute I sent off my reply, ideas started coming to me. My mind went on a free-for-all trip of plot lines. So next thing I know, I’m sitting down and writing Deceitful Truths.

So what was I going to write book 2 about?

When I started writing it though, I wanted a story that was a stand alone but did involve the other characters. I didn’t want people to have to read book 1 to be able to enjoy book 2. So I wrote a whole new story but tied it into some of the characters from book 1 and then I expanded on Bailey and Guy’s story.

It’s always tricky when writing a series. As an author, I had to make sure that the characters were the same (looked the same, acted the same, had the same issues or reasons why there had been change…) as they were in book 1. I also had to make sure that I had my facts the same about the places I was using and the plot. That was a lot of work. As I said I hadn’t planned writing a second novel so really hadn’t kept the kind of notes that I needed.

So I finally got Deceitful Truths written and figured that was the end of that. I had moved on and at that point was writing Tainted Waters. A totally separate novel.

And then… yup, you guessed it, a reader said, I loved your story. The twists and turns kept me guessing. But I do have some questions. And essentially, they wanted to know more backstory about one character and where they ended up.


Where to go with book 3?

So… I started writing book 3 – Split Seconds. I wasn’t sure where I wanted to go with it but I went back to Deceitful Truths and looked at several of the chapters I had cut. There were several plot lines that had come to me when writing Deceitful Truths but at some point I had to stop them, as they become too much. So I used some of the ideas that hadn’t made it into Deceitful Truths to spur ideas for Split Seconds. They really did help me with where to go with book 3.

So book 3 got finished. It was truly an interesting journey to write it. As with all of my stories, there are several twists and turns. Some you might see coming but there are some I don’t think you will. You’ll have to tell me after your read it, whether you knew them all or not.


Split Seconds

The Caspian Wine Series

A tangled web of secrets, lies, and deceit.

Captured Lies

She was kidnapped not once but twice… and now someone wants her dead because of it…

Her life was a lie!

Bailey knew her upbringing hadn’t been normal but she’s worked hard to stabilize her life. She finally has a good business, a stable home; her life is miles from that of her childhood. Then her mom suddenly dies, leaving a gaping hole and a discovery  that they may not even be related. If Guy, the private investigator is to be believed, her life was a lie. Growing up on the run has prepared Bailey for once again, fleeing to stay alive. Using the skills she learned on the street, Bailey travels back through a sketchy and dangerous past, to find answers. Dodging bullets, staying ahead of those who want her dead and convincing Guy she can do it alone, are making it difficult to uncover not only the secrets of her mother’s past but that of a family claiming she is theirs.

Everyone seems to have a story… but who’s telling the truth? And who wants her dead? To discover the truth, she’ll have to untangle a web of deceit, lies, and secrets dating back over thirty years.

Deceitful Truths

A week of her life is missing… And now someone is trying to steal the secret, she is desperate to protect.

Doing whatever it takes to protect her family, Tarin abandons her abusive marriage, rescues her son and flees across country. Lost and unsure who to trust, she hopes her new job with a Private Investigator, Knight’s Associates, will give her the connections and resources she needs to find answers. Seven days of her life are missing and she doesn’t know why but the consequences of it are undeniable.

Graham’s company, Knight’s Associates, has been hacked, they are being inundated with false leads. The past is coming back to haunt them but how does the new assistant they hired, play into it? Is she truly helping them solve cyber-crimes or is she selling off their high-security information? Is that why someone is trying to abduct her?

Tarin and Graham discover that although they don’t trust each other, they are forced to work together to solve several seemingly unrelated crimes that may lead to one disastrous conclusion. Can they figure it all out before Tarin’s nightmare plays out? An eighty-year-old woman pays with her life? Or before Tarin learns a truth that may seal her fate and be the one secret that will keep her and Graham apart as neither one of them may be able to forgive or forget…

(Caspian Wine Series, Book Two – Standalone but is a Sequel/Companion Novel to Captured Lies)

Split Seconds

Twins… separated as toddlers, reunited as adults… and now they’re switching places in a dangerous game to outsmart organized crime.

Her sister is alive! Excited to discover that her twin didn’t die as a toddler, Tijan can’t wait to meet her other half. She puts aside her confusion as to why her only sibling hasn’t reached out in almost thirty years.

Although the reunion is joyous, not everyone is excited to discover that there are two of them. Using it to her advantage, Tijan is determined to take down the one man, responsible for it all… her father. The secrets and lies that have kept the twins apart, soon unravel but with deadly consequences.

Maggie Thom

Whether her thrillers are set in a real town, city, or countryside, or one made up from her imagination, Multi-Award-Winning Author Maggie Thom writes engaging suspense thrillers that delve into a family’s lies, ties, and deceit. They are rollercoaster stories featuring strong women fighting for what they know is right but having to wade through a maze of twists and turns. Maggie believes in happily ever after but will take you on one heck of an adventure to get there.

And her Free eBook - Blurred Lines.

Her motto: Read to escape… Escape to read…

"Maggie Thom writes a fast paced thriller... that keeps the reader interested and on edge!" InDtale Magazine

Connect with me on Social Media.

Click on the icon below to be taken to my page.

BookBub       Goodreads

Learn More about my Suspense/Thriller/Mystery Books

Click on the image below.

Editing my suspense/thriller taught me a few of my writing quirks

Spelling Quirks

Editing My Novel Taught Me a Few Things About My Spelling Quirks

Tainted Waters

The vacation that started it all.

Captured Lies

Creating Captured Lies - Bailey's Journey

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This